There’s a shoulder where death comes to cry

I heard this song Take this Waltz by Leonard Cohen a long time ago, and found it very mysterious as I didn’t know what it was about. Lately I found this youtube clip with a preface by Mr Cohen himself that explains that it is a tribute to the Spanish Poet Federico Garcia Lorca. I can’t say I know much about Lorca’s poetry, even in English translation, but I wish I did.

Lorca was born in 1898, and was murdered in 1936 by fascists during the Spanish Civil War. His body was never found.

2 Responses to “There’s a shoulder where death comes to cry”

  1. Natasha Mendes Says:

    This is one of my fave LC’s songs!

    …”and I’ll dance with you in Vienna, I’ll be wearing a river’s disguise…” – it makes me think of some sort of masquerade ball.

    Anthem is another good one – “there’s a crack in everything, that’s how the lights get in”

    love it.

  2. telescoper Says:

    Cohen’s song is a homage to Lorca’s poem Little Viennese Waltz:

    http://www.webheights.net/speakingcohen/waltz.htm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,681 other followers

