Taken at the flood

I find myself in the unusual situation of having lunch at home on a working Monday. This is because I have to travel down to Brighton this evening for some Sussex business tomorrow. Not wanting to carry all my stuff into work and thence to the station I decided to plan on coming home for a bite to eat before setting out on the journey.

Normally the journey from Cardiff to Brighton would be expected to take about four hours via London, but there’s been a lot of disruption to the trains recently owing to flooding that occurred after a period of heavy rain about 10 days ago. In fact the area, between Bristol Parkway and Swindon, that flooded this time seems to do so regularly, each time catching Network Rail Notwork Fail completely by surprise. Why has this localised flooding taken so long to fix? I have no idea. I’m no engineer, but I would have thought it should be possible to do something about a problem so well known. But that never seems to happen, and the system is thrown into chaos nearly every time it rains, with trains having to be re-routed or cancelled in shambolic fashion. We are however getting a bigger station at Reading, which apparently means that more trains can be run into and out of London. Until the line floods again.

Anyway, I’m taking no chances and setting out early. If I am to endure a scenic diversion via Bath at least I’ll have plenty to do: coursework to mark, stuff to read, and papers to revise. Wish me luck. I think I’ll need it.

2 Responses to “Taken at the flood”

  1. Bryn Jones Says:

    I recall travelling from Cardiff to Brighton by rail via Bristol, Bath, Warminster, Salisbury, Fareham and Worthing many years ago. The rail service, however, was in chaos in West Sussex after somebody drove a car on to a level crossing, then turned to drive along the tracks. The car made contact with the electrified power rail and burst into flames, closing the line for some time. Fortunately, I had chosen to take an early train.

  2. Chris Clark Says:

    As long as it costs less to deal with the disruption than it does to address the cause, it’ll go un-dealt-with.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,638 other followers

