Alma Mater

During my short visit to Cambridge on Wednesday I happened to pass through Magdalene College (on my way to a couple of pints in The Pickerel). I couldn’t resist taking a pic of the Lutyens Building, where I lived in the first year (1982/3). My room was second from the far end, on the first floor. I wonder who’s in there now?

4 Responses to “Alma Mater”

  1. Anton Garrett Says:

    Judging by this, you could always take a punt on who it is.

    • telescoper Says:

      If memory serves, you were on the top floor at the other end of the building..

      • Anton Garrett Says:

        Correct. Those rooms were decent when used as Lutyens intended, one person in 2 rooms behind each oak door. But architects were vain even then: he did the drainpipes inside the brickwork, and when they got blocked up by leaves and then froze in winter the resulting problems were appalling.

  2. You should have called into the Infinities Conference at DAMTP, I think you might have enjoyed the talks (or maybe you did!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,454 other followers

