Wonders of the Solar System…

Apologies to Professor Brian Cox, but I couldn’t resist this! I think it’s hilarious…

A word of warning: it contains colourful language, so please be sure to watch it after the watershed. And if you can’t find water, lava will do just as well.

16 Responses to “Wonders of the Solar System…”

  1. Priceless.

  2. telescoper Says:

    I have a feeling the BBC copyright police will have this taken off Youtube pretty quickly…

  3. Anton Garrett Says:

    I like him. He has not anaesthetised his sense of wonder.

    As a teaser, this isn’t swearing, it is merely foul language….

    Anton

  4. telescoper Says:

    Anton

    I was on the panel that gave Brian Cox a PPARC Fellowship (quite a few years ago now). I think, however, he might have turned it down in order to take up a Royal Society University Research Fellowship instead. I’m not sure.

    But, talking of a sense of wonder, I wonder if there’s a bit of Mancunian solidarity showing in your comment!

    Peter

  5. telescoper Says:

    It’s right though. Physics is about finding out what the fuck is going on.

  6. Tim Harries Says:

    I think I have finally found the opening line for my standard grant case…

  7. Anton Garrett Says:

    Peter,

    I’m not against Mancunian solidarity! But I no longer regard myself as an active physicist (cf probability theory) and I haven’t bothered with TV for many years, so I had to see who he was from Wikipedia.

    Physics is finding out what is going on *materially*. It is great but it is not the only thing. Even though you need a body to have emotions, and even though you can correlate somebody saying “I feel happy/sad/angry” with certain brain activation patterns, emotions are real yet are still not physical things.

    Anton

    • telescoper Says:

      Anton,

      I rarely watch TV myself, unless it’s sport (and there’s not much of that you can see without paying extra). I gave up watching science programmes quite a long time ago, as they are usually dreadful. I therefore haven’t watched much of Wonders of the Solar System, but it’s getting a good reaction from the general public – especially the youngsters – and that’s much more important than what an old fart like me thinks.

      Peter

  8. Anton Garrett Says:

    Peter,

    It is a delicate balance between interesting the young, which often involves whizzbang, and informing them that physics really is hard work, but that the reward is commensurate with the work.

    Anton

    • telescoper Says:

      I seem to remember being convinced by my teachers at School that physics was worth doing precisely because it was hard. Or perhaps that’s just false memory syndrome…

  9. Was one of your teachers JFK?

  10. Garret Cotter Says:

    “I don’t think it’s properly reflected that doing difficult things is a) good and b) difficult, and it would be to all our benefit if that were more widely understood.”

    Prof Cox himself in the Evening Standard recently.

  11. telescoper Says:

    Good for him!

  12. I am a 8th grade teacher in NC and came across your site while researching some information about the solar system for my class this year. I just wanted to thank you for the great information and articles about the solar system.

    http://www.thefreeresource.com/fun-facts-and-resources-about-the-planets-and-solar-system

    We would love it if you could write a few articles for us, or link to some of the current articles to help us spread trusted resources to other teachers. I have included a link to the site in hopes you might want link to it.

    Thanks and keep the great resources coming

    Bre Matthews

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,280 other followers

