Archive for April 3, 2011

An Almost Dancer

Posted in Poetry with tags , on April 3, 2011 by telescoper

Once, on a hill in Wales, one summer’s day
I almost danced for what I thought was joy.

An hour or more I’d lain there on my back
Watching the clouds as I gazed dreaming up.

As I lay there I heard a skylark sing
A song so sweet it touched the edge of pain.

I dreamt my hair was one with all the leaves
And that my legs sent shoots into the earth.

Laughing awake, I lay there in the sun
And knew that there was nothing to be known.

Small wonder then that when I stood upright
I felt like dancing. Oh, I almost danced.

I almost danced for joy, I almost did.
But some do not, and there’s an end of it.

One night no doubt I shall lie down for good
And when I do perhaps I’ll dance at last.

Meanwhile I keep this memory of that day
I was an almost dancer, once, in Wales.

(by Robert Nye)


Share/Bookmark

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,280 other followers