Archive for April 10, 2011

For Charity’s Sake…

Posted in Art, Biographical with tags , , on April 10, 2011 by telescoper

Our beautiful spring continues. It’s another lovely day here in Cardiff so I’m going to get some work done in the garden then catch up with the weekend’s crosswords. I was too busy yesterday to get round to the Saturday Guardian Prize Crossword, so now I’ve got it and the Observer ones to do today.

I went to a posh do last night. The Vale of Glamorgan County Council is renowned for the splendour of its Balls, and last night the Mayor held one of them for Charity. This event took place in a Marquee which had been specially erected in the magnificent setting of Dyffryn Gardens. I’ve never been there before, but am definitely planning togo again, as we didn’t get very much time to see the gardens and no time at all to see the famous arboretum there. Anyway, here’s a shot of us wandering around the (slightly dilapidated) Dyffryn House, which forms the centrepiece of the Dyffryn Estate, with champagne glasses in hand. How very decadent.

The Ball itself was very pleasant. The food was good, and there was plenty of wine to go around. The dance band was a little ropey, in my opinion, but plenty of people were dancing and it was all jolly good fun. Also I was one of the youngest people there, so it was quite nice, for once, not to be one of the oldies.

Since it was a fundraising event for Charity there was the obligatory raffle, followed by an auction. Among the items being sold were two paintings by local artist Charles Byrd. I ended up buying one of them, which happened to have been painted in 1963 – the year of my birth. I’m very pleased with my acquisition, but haven’t figured out where I’m going to hang it yet; here’s a blurry phone picture of it in my study.


Share/Bookmark

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,269 other followers