Lost in Translation

I recently purchased, and placed in my possession, a remote control device for a Canon digital camera. Last night I got it out with the intention of playing with it – the camera, I mean – and was forced to read the instructions that came with the remote controller. I decided to pass them on verbatim via this blog in case any of my readers is wondering how to operate this sort of gadget. I quote:

When the use group racket function, need transmitter’s digit code switch to establish completely only as 1234, then all receivers implements the active control to the region, realizes to camera focusing, the shutter and the B mode control.

I hope that’s clear. Any questions?


Share/Bookmark

7 Responses to “Lost in Translation”

  1. I’m always amazed that devices with that sort of instruction set actually work – presumably they gave much more thought to assembling the electronics inside it than to the written word. Or maybe this remote does indeed send out random signal patterns until it successfully finds the right one by chance…

  2. telescoper Says:

    I believe the same people are working on the Square Kilometre Array….

  3. I use a Canon for photography and follow the instructions in the manual religiously. Perhaps that’s why my photos are so crap.

    Seriously, I’ve never seen anything like this in a Canon manual myself but my equipment was bought in the US. Maybe they use different translators for the UK? In any case I have to racket my camera’s functions after some seawater disimplemented the 1234 region receiver control. I always assumed this was a common problem.

  4. But there is a trick you will never find in those standard and minimalistic instruction books: if you set the code switch to 1324 then you can racket the shutter in the B mode functioning group use 😀

  5. telescoper Says:

    I always prefer the A mode myself, whether or not a group is involved.

  6. Bryn Jones Says:

    I have a hunch that automatic translation software was used to produce that text.

    That reminds me many years ago, when the web was young, of using an online translator to generate a French translation of the abstract of a conference proceedings article (the conference was in France and needed an abstract in French as well as English). The result looked odd, so I tested it by running the automatically-generated French text through the translation tool to obtain an English translation. The whole English-French-English process managed to convert “the Virgo Cluster” to “the battery of the Virgin”.

  7. I suspect automatic translation too, though I’d have thought a company like Canon would have done a better job. Unlike: http://cdn-www.cracked.com/articleimages/dan/psfreaks2/404.jpg

Leave a Reply

