Radical Research IV – rating researchers (via Cosmology at AIMS)

A “Mr Smith” from Portugal drew my attention to this post. I’ve posted from time to time about my scepticism about bibliometricism and this piece suggests some radical alternatives to the way citations are handled. I’m not sure I agree with it, but it’s well worth reading.

In this, the 4th post in this series (the others on video abstracts, object oriented paper writing and freelance postdocs are here: 1,2,3), I would like to chat about a tough but important problem and present some proposals to address it, which vary from conservative to bordering on the extreme. Crazy ideas can be stimulating and fun, and I hope the proposals achieve at least one of these. They might even turn out to be useful. One can hope. The … Read More

via Cosmology at AIMS

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,269 other followers

