Archive for October 25, 2011

Astronomy Look-alikes, No. 67

Posted in Astronomy Lookalikes with tags , , , on October 25, 2011 by telescoper

I’m struck by the remarkable similarity between Dr Marek Kukula, “Public Astronomer” at the Royal Observatory, Greenwich, and Constable Kevin Goody, as played by actor James Dreyfus in the popular situation comedy The Thin Blue Line. I wonder if by any chance they might be related?

Marek Kukula

Kevin Goody

A Big Idea

Posted in The Universe and Stuff with tags , , , on October 25, 2011 by telescoper

I thought I’d share this, part of the Big Ideas series produced by Cardiff University, because it features our own Haley Gomez:

In the video Haley explains how enormous quantities of dust have been found by astronomers in the School of Physics & Astronomy. We just can’t get the cleaning staff, you see. In fact more recently there have also been discoveries of damp, mould, crumbling ceilings and broken windows.

I don’t want to steal Haley’s thunder in any way, but I should mention that an even more startling discovery has recently been made elsewhere in the School of Physics & Astronomy at Cardiff University. In my office, in fact.  Not  dust, but anti-dust!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,282 other followers