Archive for November 1, 2011

Astronomy Look-alikes, No. 69

Posted in Astronomy Lookalikes with tags , on November 1, 2011 by telescoper

I’m struck by the resemblance between purveyor of popular comic verse Pam Ayres and Oxford astrophysicist Dr Dimitra Rigopoulou. I wonder if by any chance they might be related?

Fright Club

Posted in Uncategorized with tags , on November 1, 2011 by telescoper

Regular readers of this blog (both of them) will know that a few months ago I tried my hand at stand-up comedy at the Second Bright Club Wales (see posts here and here). Last night I went along to the latest Bright Club show, number 4 of what I hope will be a long-running series. This time it was much more relaxing for me, as I didn’t have to “perform” and was therefore not only spared the nervous tension but also offered the potential of a bit of schadenfreude. Whether it was Hallowe’en horror or stage fright that caused the impromptu renaming of last night’s extravaganza “Fright Club”. As it turned out, all the acts were very good and the audience very friendly, so despite a few nerves nobody actually died…

I know one particular contributor, our own Ed Gomez (who also blogs),  was a bit apprehensive before the show, because he told me as much. But  he needn’t have worried, as his set turned out to be as hilarious as I thought it would. My only criticism is that I was a bit  disappointed with his use of foul language. There just wasn’t enough of it. Anyhow, Ed had the prescience to record his set so here it is in all its glory….

Kudos to all the contributors last night, and to the inestimable MC Dean Burnett for directing the traffic with such aplomb. It was great fun, and as a bonus it gave me an excuse to be out of the house when the trick-or-treaters came round!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,269 other followers