Mu süda, ärka üles

well, the conference is over. I did my summary talk this afternoon and most of the conference attendees have already begun their journey home. I’m coming back to England tomorrow so I spent the early evening doing a bit of exploration. The conference schedule has been so packed that this is the first time I’ve been able to act like a tourist. I have to say the old town of Tallinn really is exceptionally beautiful, especially in the bright summer sunshine. Here’s a couple of pictures I took on my stroll.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

On Friday we had the conference dinner at the House of the Blackheads, which doesn’t sound so promising in English but is in fact a spending old building in the centre of Tallinn. To my delight we were serenaded by a choir (The Estonian Girls’ TV Choir). Estonia is a small country, with a population of only 1.3 Million, but it has an exceptionally strong musical tradition especially in choral music. Estonia has more choirs per unit population than any other country in the world, or so I’m told. Even more than Wales!

Anyway, this is the folk hymn they started with last night; the lights were dimmed in the ancient hall and the girls stood around the dining hall holding candles as they sang. The effect was stunning. Mu süda, ärka üles which means Awake, my heart is a traditional song, but the wonderful arrangement is by a composer who is quite new to me, Cyrillus Kreek.

I’ll complete my series of summaries of the conference tomorrow morning.

2 Responses to “Mu süda, ärka üles”

  1. Anton Garrett Says:

    For me the big thing today has been the 100th anniversary of the assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand, heir to the throne of the Austro-Hungarian empire. Five weeks of failed backroom diplomacy later, World War I began.

Leave a Reply

