Sleep well last night?

We had a spectacular thunderstorm over Brighton last night. I do love a good thunderstorm. Although I enjoyed the show, I didn’t get much sleep. Judging by the following graphic from BBC Weather, I’m not the only one…

Lightning

9 Responses to “Sleep well last night?”

  1. Daniel Mortlock Says:

    I too was woken up by lightning strikes that, judging by the ~1 second delay between the flash and the whiplash crack of thunder, were too close for comfort . . . and certainly too close to sleep through.

    • telescoper Says:

      I had instantaneous flashes and bangs; I think the steeple of the church at the end of my street was hit. I knew I wouldn’t sleep, so got up and watched for at least 40 minutes, watching the show and enjoying the sound and smell of the rain through the open windows.

      Incidentally, there’s a lovely word for the smell of rain on dry earth:

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Petrichor

  2. Peter Main Says:

    Slept through it all myself but if you want a real time map try http://www.blitzortung.org/Webpages/index.php?lang=en&page_0=12

  3. There is nothing like a good thunderstorm for good sleep. I am annoyed by music, voices, dripping taps, creaking heating pipes etc, even if they are very quiet, and whether or not they are regular. But rain (the harder, the better), thunder, the roar of the sea, high winds—the louder these sounds are, the better I can sleep. (The only time I can’t sleep is when there is lightning and I am in a tent; in such cases, I stay awake and take shelter elsewhere (probably in my car since, these days, when sleeping in a tent I am usually travelling by car, when in the old days it could be cycling).)

    • Anton Garrett Says:

      Phillip,

      In the early days of car alarms one went off in a street quite close and didn’t stop for hours. It must have wrecked the sleep of quite a few people. I found the solution was to turn on a detuned radio so that it hissed, ie put out all frequencies at random relative phases, and turn the volume up till it just drowned out the irritating frequency-specific tones of the alarm. The omnifrequency hiss is much easier to sleep to, at least in my case. Or try a fan heater set to cold, in which case the noise of the fan might do the trick. I hope this helps!

      • telescoper Says:

        It’s strange what keeps people awake and what does not. I remember being unable to sleep one night in the flat I rented in Cardiff for a time before buying my house. There was a persistent though not very loud scraping noise. It got on my nerves primarily because I couldn’t identify it. I got up several times to see where it was coming from but failed until I made a cup of tea and looked out the window. Outside the block of flats was a flagpole; the line for hoisting the flag had come loose and was scraping against the pole. The noise didn’t diminish but as soon as I knew what it was I went straight to sleep.

        Compare that with the Hurricane of 1987 which devastated Brighton. I slept all the way through that!

      • Anton Garrett Says:

        Were you actually in Brighton at the time?

      • telescoper Says:

        Of the hurricane? Yes, I was..

  4. Holy Thunder:
    God almighty crack;
    Charged up the pole,
    And fried my equipment;
    Called Optus. #truestory

Leave a Reply

