The Origin of Mass

Back in Cardiff for the weekend I was looking for some documents and stumbled across this, my National Health Service Baby Weight Card (vintage 1963). I’m told that I even lost a bit of weight between my birth and the first entry on the card:

Birth_weight

Aside from my considerable mass two further facts about my birth are worth mentioning. One is that I emerged in the incorrect polarization state, with shoulders East-West instead of North-South; the result of this was that my left collarbone was broken during the delivery. I imagine this wasn’t exactly a comfortable experience for my mother either! I subsequently broke the same collarbone falling off a wall when I was a toddler and it never healed properly, hence I can’t rotate my left arm. If I try to do the front crawl when swimming I go around in circles! The other noteworthy fact of my birth was that when I was finally extricated I was found to be completely covered in hair, like a monkey…

8 Responses to “The Origin of Mass”

  1. D R Lunsford Says:

    11 7! Space-bending… although there doesn’t seem to be too strong a correlation with later dimensions. I was a standard 7 10 or something like that but turned out rather tall and robust. I’ve known small people who were huge babies. (“Born in the wrong polarization state”, that made me laugh🙂

    -drl

  2. Advocating hirsutism from the get-go?

  3. Word of the day: ‘lanugo’.

    • telescoper Says:

      Interesting! The wikipedia entry says that lanugo is usually associated with premature birth. If I was premature I dread to think how big I would have been had I gone to full term!

  4. Ouch! Have you ever thought of getting collarbone/shoulder, upper body fixed?

    • telescoper Says:

      It’s such a major deal to fix it now that it’s not worth the effort. It doesn’t cause any pain. The only problem is that it robbed England of a left-arm bowler, except that I’m right handed.

  5. ” I’m told that I even lost a bit of weight between my birth and the first entry on the card”

    I think that this is actually the rule rather than the exception.

Leave a Reply

