Arrival in L’Aquila

If you were baffled by yesterday’s post then I hope today’s will explain. Yesterday, after an early morning meeting at the University of Sussex, I took the train to Gatwick Airport and thence a flight to Rome; hence volare. The British Airways Flight to Fiumicino Airport I was on arrived about 8 minutes ahead of schedule at 18.12, and I managed to get my luggage and clear passport control and all that in time to catch the 7pm coach to my present location, the city of L’Aquila, which is in the Abruzzo region, about 65 miles East of Rome. I’ve never made this trip before so I was a bit anxious about finding my way here and indeed it would have been a pain had I not caught the 7pm bus, because that would have meant either waiting for the next one (not until 9.30) or going by an alternative route involving a train and a different coach. As it happened, I needn’t have worried.

I’m here to attend a meeting entitled Multiple Messengers and Challenges in Astroparticle Physics, which is taking place at the Gran Sasso Science Institute. As well as the cosmology sessions, which are directly related to my own research, I’m hoping over the next ten days or so to take the opportunity to catch up on the  wider developments in astroparticle physics.

L’Aquila was badly damaged by an earthquake in 2009 and there was plenty of evidence of repair and reconstruction work still going on. I’ll take a few pictures here and there, but for the time being I’ll just share the view from my hotel window for the enjoyment of any readers back in rainy England…

IMG-20141007-00420

4 Responses to “Arrival in L’Aquila”

  1. Anton Garrett Says:

    Yes, but we don’t get earthquakes here in rainy England.

    What is the probability that an attendee at this conference will win the 2014 Nobel Prize?

    • Zero. That is my enlightened opinion. (Pun, as always, intended.)

      Search the web to shed some more light on this.

      • Anton Garrett Says:

        Zero is certainly the posterior probability now that it has been announced; I was referring to the prior.

    • telescoper Says:

      I think the prior was pretty close to zero too. Neutrino oscillations would have been a reasonable contender, and the best prospect for this group of physicists, but none of the leading protagonists is here..

Leave a Reply

