Choose My Mugshot

For some time now staff and students of the School of Mathematical & Physical Sciences at the University of Sussex have complained that the picture of me on my office door is of a non-bearded person. Recently therefore I made a visit to a professional photographer so he could take a picture of the hirsute me and tried his best to make me look presentable in the process. I am now told I have to pick one of the following three shortlisted photographic representations. They all suffer from the problem that they look like me, so I have no idea what to pick. I thought I’d have a bit of a laugh and see if I can crowd-source a favourite.

Here are the contenders:

 

Please vote here

9 Responses to “Choose My Mugshot”

  1. Anton Garrett Says:

    You could simply have photoshopped a beard…

    • telescoper Says:

      I couldn’t do that. Astronomers have no skill at image processing…

      • I’m reading Dennis Overbye’s Lonely Hearts in the Cosmos. Peebles shows Dicke a flowchart for a complicated experiment, and Dicke can’t make heads or tails of it. “Have you considered theory?” he asks. šŸ™‚

        Is the following apocryphal and, if not, who is the astronomer in question? When asked the name of a particular star, famous astronomer replies “How should I know? I’m an astronomer, not a fucking Boy Scout!”

  2. Better still – add a beard to the existing picture with a felt-tip – a la Molesworth…

  3. I thought academics were always required to share an office with at least two other people, with their names on oddly-typed laminated cards blu-tacked to the door with no pictures. Then, when some annoying visitor pops their head round the door and says ‘Is Peter here?’ you can shrug and say ‘He just popped out’ before escaping to the library or somewhere.

  4. Hankenstein Says:

    Is there an embarrassing tattoo on the right-hand side of your face?

    • Phillip Helbig Says:

      IIRC, Peter does have a tattoo, though not necessarily embarrassing (well, depending on your point of view), on the right-hand side of his body, but not on his face.

    • Phillip Helbig Says:

      Don’t assume anything about the side you cannot see:

      An astronomer, a physicist and a mathematician are on a train in Scotland. The astronomer looks out of the window, sees a black sheep standing in a field, and remarks, “How odd. All the sheep in Scotland are black!” “No, no, no!” says the physicist. “Only some Scottish sheep are black.” The mathematician rolls his eyes at his companions’ muddled thinking and says, “In Scotland, there is at least one sheep, at least one side of which appears to be black from here some of the time.”

Leave a Reply

