Arrivederci L’Aquila!

So here I am, then. In the British Airways Lounge at Roma Fiumicino Airport waiting for a flight back to Gatport Airwick. This morning’s bus journey from L’Aquila was as incident-free as the outbound journey, and I actually got to the airport about 10 minutes early. As I always do I planned the journey so I’d arrive in plenty of time for my flight, so now I get to relax and drink free wine among the Business Class types until I’m called to totter to the gate.

Fiumicino is strange airport, clearly built in the 1960s with the intention that it should look futuristic but with the inevitable result that it now feels incredibly dated, like a 1950s Science Fiction film.

Anyway, I’ve at last got a bit of time to kill so I’ll take the opportunity to brush up on my Italian. Let’s try translating this:

gusto

It’s obvious of course. House of Wind.

Ciao Ciao

3 Responses to “Arrivederci L’Aquila!”

  1. SandraFromAcr...Flanders Says:

    “Fiumicino is strange airport, clearly built in the 1960s with the intention that it should look futuristic but with the inevitable result that it now feels incredibly dated, like a 1950s Science Fiction film”: that’s a perfect description ^^

  2. Of course you know that “ciao” only means “slave”, or “servant”. Latin ‘sclavus’, Venetian ‘sciavo’ or ‘sciao’, Italian ‘ciao’. Ciao-ciao

Leave a Reply

