Una Furtiva Lagrima

Too busy for a proper post today so here’s a bit of music. On Saturday I had the pleasure of listening on BBC Radio 3 to a live broadcast of the opera L’elisir d’amore from Covent Gardens, one of my all-time favourite works. I definitely have a thing for the kind of Italian Bel Canto exemplified by the work of Gaetano Donizetti and this is one of his greatest; certainly his most performed anyway. One the surface it’s a light romantic comedy with a very silly plot involving a quack doctor and a fake potion, but it’s beautifully characterized and has considerable dramatic depth and wonderful music. I don’t mind daft operas, as long as they’re sufficiently daft to be true to real life…

Anyway, listening on the radio made me realise how long it has been since I went to see an opera live. Looking at the Covent Garden website to see if there were any more performances due, I saw the prices of the remaining tickets, which brough tears to my eyes. All of which brings me to the highlight of L’elisir d’amore, the Act III aria Una Furtiva Lagrima, one of the most famous and beautiful tenor arias in the entire repertoire. Here it is, sung by the late great Pavarotti. Enjoy!

Oh, and while I am on the theme of opera I’ll just mention that Maria Callas was born on this day in 1923. Happy Birthday, La Divina!

Callas

2 Responses to “Una Furtiva Lagrima”

  1. “Too busy for a proper post today so here’s a bit of music.”

    Surely you jest; posts about music are proper posts.

    “Facts are not knowledge, knowledge is not wisdom, wisdom is not truth, truth is not beauty, beauty is not music, music is the best.”

    —Frank Zappa

  2. I love Pavarotti’s dramatic interpretation of this lovely aria, and by the way, I love Pavarotti for just about everything he performed with the exception of the recital he once gave in Vancouver, BC, out of which there was not a single High C to thrill his audience. We loved him nonetheless, he was a magnificent performer with a completely unique and instantly recognizable vocal style. However no one, in my few at any rate, can touch Jussi Bjoerling’s exquisite, subtle, lyrical instrument. https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=cExgrwG0fhc

    I adore the photo of Callas, by the way. Many thanks for another enjoyable post,

Leave a Reply

