Farewell, Mr Spock

image

I was very sad to hear this afternoon of the death, at the age of 83, of actor Leonard Nimoy. Although he did a great many other things in a long and varied career, Leonard Nimoy will of course be remembered most fondly for his role as Mr Spock, Science Officer of the USS Enterprise, in Star Trek.

I was both fascinated and inspired by Mr Spock when I was young, so Leonard Nimoy’s death is like the loss of an old friend. I’m sure I’m not the only scientist of my generation who is feeling that way today. Mr Spock represented the outsider in all of us.

spock

3 Responses to “Farewell, Mr Spock”

  1. […] hier, hier, hier, hier und hier und weitere Artikel hier, hier, hier, hier, hier, hier, hier, hier und […]

  2. Mr. Spock, you was and you will be a true inspiration for me throughout my life, and I belive throughout many peoples lifes over the world.
    Thank you for that!

    Rest In Peace

  3. Phillip Helbig Says:

    “I was both fascinated and inspired by Mr Spock when I was young, so Leonard Nimoy’s death is like the loss of an old friend.”

    Same here. I never met him. I am not a collector of autographs, but I have two: Isaac Asimov and Walter Koenig.

    “I’m sure I’m not the only scientist of my generation who is feeling that way today. Mr Spock represented the outsider in all of us.”

    Indeed. Interestingly, though, he was by far the most popular character among the female fans of the show.

Leave a Reply

