I know I am but summer to your heart

I know I am but summer to your heart,
And not the full four seasons of the year;
And you must welcome from another part
Such noble moods as are not mine, my dear.
No gracious weight of golden fruits to sell
Have I, nor any wise and wintry thing;
And I have loved you all too long and well
To carry still the high sweet breast of Spring.
Wherefore I say: O love, as summer goes,
I must be gone, steal forth with silent drums,
That you may hail anew the bird and rose
When I come back to you, as summer comes.
Else will you seek, at some not distant time,
Even your summer in another clime.

by Edna St. Vincent Millay (1892-1950)

2 Responses to “I know I am but summer to your heart”

  1. Phillip Helbig Says:

    Has anyone managed to write a scientific paper in the form of a Shakespearean sonnet? Or at least iambic pentameter?

    Max Tegmark has a paper with the abstract in definitely non-heroic couplets.

Leave a Reply

