R.I.P. Shira Banki

While I took a breather during this afternoon’s Brighton Pride Village Party I checked my Twitter feed only to find the terrible news that 16-year Shira Banki had died of injuries sustained when she was stabbed at Jerusalem Pride three days ago. I didn’t feel much like going back to the Party after that.

Although it seems a feeble gesture, I’d like to take the opportunity to express my condolences to Shira Banki’s family and friends. A young life cut short in such a cruel way must be very difficult to come to terms with.

Shira Banki was one of six people stabbed by an ultra-religious person by the name of Yishai Shlissel, who had only  just been released from prison a few weeks ago after serving a ten year sentence for stabbing people at the 2005 pride event. That time however he didn’t kill anyone. Now he has. In fact he stabbed her in the back in the manner of a despicable coward.

I don’t believe in capital punishment but I think this man has demonstrated that he is a danger to the public and should be locked up for the rest of his life. I don’t know if there is a God or not, but if there is, I hope He She or It knows what to do with people like Yishai Shlissel when his time comes. The rest of eternity in chains watching never-ending Pride parades would be my suggestion.

R.I.P. Shira Banki

2 Responses to “R.I.P. Shira Banki”

  1. Anton Garrett Says:

    Actually I do believe in capital punishment for murder.

  2. Phillip Helbig Says:

    With respect to terrorism, disrespect of women, etc, fundamentalists of many religions are remarkably similar.

Leave a Reply

