Sono arrivato a Pisa

En route to a workshop in the picturesque village of Castiglioncello, which is on the coast of Tuscany on a promontory sticking out into the Ligurian Sea, I decided to travel a day early and stay over in Pisa. I flew direct from London Gatwick to Pisa and it’s not far from the airport by train to my final destination, but despite travelling to Italy many times over the years I’ve never actually visited Pisa so I thought I’d take the opportunity to have a look around before making the short journey to Castiglioncello in the morning. In any case the cost of the flight was much lower to travel on a Sunday and the hotel I’m in is quite cheap so it seemed like a good deal. It’s lovely and warm here – 32 degrees in fact, at 7pm local time, so I had a pleasant stroll among the tourists.

Here are a few pictures to prove I was here! The first is the main road nearest to my hotel, brought back a lot of memories of my days as a student:

DSC_0160[1]

Now a couple of obligatory shots of the Leaning Tower. It was difficult to photograph because of the setting sun, so they’re not perfect but I was in a bit of a rush to get something to eat and, well you know, that there is little point in having the inclination if you haven’t got the time..

DSC_0161[1]DSC_0162[1]

The final one is of the Scuola Normale Superiore in the Piazza dei Cavalieri.

DSC_0163[1]

I rather like the shadow of the statue, which seems to be creeping up the stairs!

Anyway, I wish you all a pleasant bank holiday back in Blighty. I hope to blog from the conference, but if I don’t get time or the wifi craps out, I’ll be back online when I return at the end of the week.

5 Responses to “Sono arrivato a Pisa”

  1. Paul Stevenson Says:

    There’s an Indian restaurant on the road leading between the train station and the tower.

    Don’t eat there.

  2. Anton Garrett Says:

    “the Leaning Tower… was difficult to photograph because of the setting sun, so they’re not perfect but I was in a bit of a rush to get something to eat”

    The leaning tower of pizza?

  3. Phillip Helbig Says:

    I flew to Pisa (with Ryan Air for EUR 19 return) to attend the 2002 Texas Symposium in December 2002. I remember eating outside; it was about 18 degrees.

    The Leaning Tower is one of the famous tourist attractions which actually looks like what most people imagine it to look like.

Leave a Reply

