Adventures with the One-Point Distribution Function

As I promised a few people, here are the slides I used for my talk earlier today at the meeting I am attending. Actually I was given only 30 minutes and used up a lot of that time on two things that haven’t got much to do with the title. One was a quiz to identify the six famous astronomers (or physicists) who had made important contributions to statistics (Slide 2) and the other was on some issues that arose during the discussion session yesterday evening. I didn’t in the end talk much about the topic given in the title, which was about how, despite learning a huge amount about certain aspects of galaxy clustering, we are still far from a good understanding of the one-point distribution of density fluctuations. I guess I’ll get the chance to talk more about that in the near future!

P.S. I think the six famous faces should be easy to identify, so there are no prizes but please feel free to guess through the comments box!

6 Responses to “Adventures with the One-Point Distribution Function”

  1. Paul Stevenson Says:

    Galileo top left and Gauss bottom middle. I’m not an astronomy so I hope I can be excused the rest

  2. Anton Garrett Says:

    I’d modify the last sentence of the last slide as at first glance I thought that what we “already have” were the “things” rather than the data.

  3. Phillip Helbig Says:

    “One was a quiz to identify the six famous astronomers (or physicists) who had made important contributions to statistics”

    Sounds familiar. I recall guessing a few of these correctly a bit more than 2 years ago.

Leave a Reply

