In the Waitrose of My Mind

I’m not sure why, but the distressing events at Leytonstone at the weekend seem to have triggered a need to do one of those weird confessional posts that I seem to be prone to posting from time to time. So here goes.

A couple of weeks ago I visited Waitrose in Western Road, Hove. Nothing particularly unusual about that, you might think, although it isn’t actually a very convenient supermarket for me as I live on the other side of town. I’m not sure why I suddenly decided to go there, except that I had been avoiding it for such a long time. In fact I hadn’t set foot in that store for the best part of thirty years. The last time I went there was a few weeks after I had been beaten up on Brighton seafront. I had more-or-less recovered from the physical effects of that late-night encounter with four yobs, but I hadn’t quite got over the anxiety of going out, even in daylight. Little did I know that things were about to get a lot worse.

I only went in to buy a couple of things so it wasn’t long before I was waiting in the queue at the checkout. Suddenly I was gripped by  a deep feeling of apprehension or dread. I began to sweat and tremble, my heart was racing. I became aware of strange shapes moving unpredictably through the corner of my eye. Rapidly the shapes intensified and became threatening, monstrously distorted faces began to swirl around me uttering all kinds of threats and abuse. Terrible sounds reverberated in my ears. I couldn’t take it any more and ran from the store.

Unfortunately I was still carrying a pint of milk and some coffee so, not unreasonably, the security man jumped to the conclusion that I was  shoplifter. I made it as far as the street before he tackled me. By then I was completely incoherent, sobbing and struggling to escape, still beset by all kinds of scary visions. Someone must have called the Police, or maybe they were just passing, and I was soon bundled into a patrol car.

Thereafter it is all a bit of a blur. I was taken to a Police station and spent some time in a cell. I don’t remember how long. A person – presumably a psychiatrist – appeared and tried to talk to me but I don’t think I was making much sense. Pretty soon after that I was informed that I was being detained under then fairly new  Mental Health Act (1983). In other words I was sectioned. I think the idea that I was a shoplifter was abandoned at this point. I was taken to a psychiatric institution some way outside Brighton which looked like something out of a Gothic horror novel and was held there, for assessment.

Fortunately the worst effects of the panic attack I had experienced disappeared fairly quickly, and I was transferred to a (slightly) friendlier-looking hospital nearer home. After a couple of weeks I was discharged with a renewable prescription of heavy-duty antidepressants which seemed to work at preventing further episodes but at the cost of some quite unpleasant side-effects. I returned to work, making up a story to cover my absence. After six months I gave up taking the drugs.

Over the years since then I’ve experienced panic attacks of this type on an intermittent basis, usually much milder but sometimes not. I have been told that there isn’t really a treatment that will banish them for ever, so for the past few years  I have been controlling them using a different type of drug which seems to have fewer and less serious side-effects. I don’t like having to take medication every day, but have come to accept that’s just the way things are.

Anyway, you can now probably understand why I have avoided Waitrose in Western Road. It’s a place of painful memories for me. In a sense I went there a couple of weeks ago to attempt to exorcise a ghost.

When I walked into the shop, however, it was completely unrecognisable. The layout had changed. So had the colour scheme, the staff uniforms, the lighting, the lot.  Expecting to be overwhelmed by dread, I instead felt nothing. Relieved, I actually did some shopping. No ghosts. No swirling shapes. No terrifying noises. The only scary things there  were the prices…

 

 

 

8 Responses to “In the Waitrose of My Mind”

  1. Bryn Jones Says:

    This reads like a very distressing episode. I offer my sympathies and am glad that it is mostly in the distant past now. Let’s hope nothing like this recurs. Sympathy also to anyone else who has suffered or is still enduring anything like this.

  2. Thank you for this post, it’s important that the stigma attached to mental illness be reduced and for people know that it can affect any person. I also take an SSRI for G.A.D. and only a couple of weeks ago spent a whole Sunday convinced I was having a heart attack – what larks, Pip!

  3. Anton Garrett Says:

    Very glad you made it back there. Perhaps part of you was saying that you were ready to?

  4. I hope this was a bit of an exorcism. Anxiety is difficult to live with and can ruin lives. At the same time your career shows an adventurous streak.

    • Albert,

      I’m not generally an anxious person. I say that despite being a Newcastle United support.. A lot of my friends find it very paradoxical that I can stand up and give a lecture in front of 400 people without feeling at all nervous, which most of them would find very difficult to face, while I’ve been scared to go into a particular supermarket for almost 30 years.

      What is most frustrating is that the panic attacks I get are intermittent and unpredictable, and thus very difficult to manage when they do happen. I take medication everyday to decrease the probability rather than because I feel anxious every day.

      Peter

  5. I wish I had something insightful to say, but I don’t. What happened to you is horrible, Peter. Not just the assault, but the poor followup in dealing with the mental health issues the resulted from it. I’m glad you’ve written about it, because I don’t think a lot of people are fully aware that those things happened (and still happen), nor appreciate the full impact they have on a person.

    Waitrose is quite expensive, isn’t it? I like their fruit and veg better than other places, but I have quite a narrow slice of their range I consider worth paying their prices for.

  6. Came across this at a low-traffic blog on my list: a mental-health app for students:

    http://blogoftheisotopes.blogspot.de/2016/02/a-mental-health-app-for-students.html

Leave a Reply

