Where Two Tribes Go To Roar…

It seems that my former colleague from Nottingham days, Professor Philip Moriarty, has decided to leave Twitter.

I have to say my own experiences of Twitter haven’t been as bad as Philip’s. In fact I still find it rather fun,  but then I just tend to ignore or block people who irritate me rather than try to enter into pointless and frustrating dialogues…

Symptoms Of The Universe

(…or Why I Left The Twitter Trenches)

I was warned by colleagues and friends not to do it.

“You’ll definitely regret it”.

“I know what you’re like — you’ll get drawn into far too many pointless arguments.”

“Where are you going to find the time?”

In the end, I lasted a little less than 18 months. I deactivated my Twitter account last Sunday.

And breathed a huge sigh of relief.

No more petty playground barbs, ad hominem slurs, or tweenage memes (in lieu of any type of coherent argument) clogging up my timeline.

No more logging on to find fifty or sixty notifications, scrolling down the list and finding my faith in humanity chipped away just that little bit more.

And, in particular, no more of the spinelessness and hypocrisy of that particular subset of Twitter users who spend their time cravenly slagging off others from behind…

View original post 1,974 more words

3 Responses to “Where Two Tribes Go To Roar…”

  1. Bryn Jones Says:

    I really like Twitter. It enables me to get lots of news about things I’m interested in. It allows me to keep up with what some friends are doing (a small subset of friends tweet regularly, and they are on a private list so that I can check what they have tweeted recently).

    Some people occasionally engage in arguments. I can’t recall any aggressive arguments with anonymous users, but I’d be very likely to them inform them of my low opinion of their intelligence and block them. Yes, just block the trolls and the stupid. It should work fine.

  2. Michael Kenyon Says:

    Can’t really see the point of twitter, it seems to be a way to advertise yourself and tell people what you are up to. What is a bit objectionable is that celebrities don’t come clean as to why they are on it, self promotion.

    It does attract types who will wind up/threaten you, surely most know that and if you are a delicate flower best not to go on.

    Also is it really wise to stick pictures of your kids up on your public profile? Why people feel to need to do this is beyond me.

    As I tell people the only pictures you really want online are of yourself, and from the neck down!

    • Phillip Helbig Says:

      I’m still avoiding Twitter. Not that I avoid the internet; I’ve been around the innertubes since the early 1990s. I’ve had my own servers (WWW, mail, FTP, whatever) at home for 15 years. I even comment on blogs. Yes, one can selectively follow people on Twitter, but it still seems to me that the signal-to-noise ratio is too low to make it worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

