Are we being shortchanged in our Celebrations tubs?

Here’s a chance to provide some data for an important study. It probably helps if you like chocolate.

More Known Than Proven

20151220_132141-01.jpeg My final, new improved bar chart with a different tub of Celebrations. Note the purpose made graph paper

Yesterday I posted a tongue-in-cheek picture on Facebook of a bar chart (not the one above) that I made up of sweets in a Celebrations tub. It was a riposte to a pie chart that Simon Brew had done here. As someone who likes good data visualisation I find pie charts nearly always to be worse than a bar chart – if you want to know why read Edward Tufte or this or this.

Below, on the left is Simon’s pie chart, and on the right is the bar chart I did with my own tub of Celebrations. My bar chart shows I’m clearly being short changed on the Malteasers (which I love) and there are far too many Bounty bars (who likes Bounty bars?!?).

pie_chart Simon’s bar chart

12390885_10156263641790507_4443434368670656197_n My initial…

View original post 592 more words

3 Responses to “Are we being shortchanged in our Celebrations tubs?”

  1. Thank you for supporting this important work. I will ensure you get appropriate credit in any paper I submit. Though I’m unsure which journals I should try.

  2. […] no less. Cosmologist Professor Peter Coles has reblogged it on his excellent In the Dark blog here. And atomic physicist Professor Philip Moriarty has reblogged it at his also excellent Symptoms of […]

  3. A spokesperson for the Amalgamated Society of Confectionery Producers said ‘In the interests of consumer health we have an ongoing programme of pack size reduction…next year we will be launching a selection tub called ‘Commiserations’ which will contain nothing but fun-size Bounty bars and Tangerine Creams.’

Leave a Reply

