Truly, Madly, Deeply – R.I.P. Alan Rickman

Well, I can’t say that I’m very impressed with 2016 so far. Now the wonderful actor Alan Rickman has been taken from us. The first time I saw him act was on the small screen, in a bit part in Smiley’s People. Anyone remember who he played? It says a lot about his talent that he could make such a small role so memorable. However the first feature film I saw him in was Truly, Madly, Deeply which co-starred the marvellous Juliet Stevenson. I cried more than I’d like to admit.

Anyway, by way of a tribute here he is singing, appropriately enough, The Sun Ain’t Gonna Shine Anymore.

Rest in peace, Alan Rickman (1946-2016).

2 Responses to “Truly, Madly, Deeply – R.I.P. Alan Rickman”

  1. Anton Garrett Says:

    If you recall, you kindly lent me your DVDs of Smiley’s People after saying it was better than Tinker Tailor, which I enjoyed but had found a bit too clever-clever. You were right: I found myself in London with it during a Test Match and planned to watch an episode one morning before heading to Lords. I got there well after lunchtime. Didn’t spot Rickman, though. NB He and Bowie died at the same age (in the sense of total elapsed years): 69.

    • telescoper Says:

      Rickman played Mr Brownlow, the receptionist with whom Smiley leaves a bag for safe keeping while piecing together Vladimir’s last movements.

Leave a Reply

