Winter Graduation

image

A very busy week found me on graduation duty today at the Brighton Dome for the Winter Graduation for the School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences at the University of Sussex. In fact students from all the Science schools at Sussex graduated this morning, so it was quite a long ceremony but it was, as usual, made very enjoyable by the presence of the Chancellor, Sanjeev Bhaskar, who was at one point lifted clean off his feet by a strapping graduand. I’ve seen hugs, handshakes and selfish galore on the stage at The Dome. but I don’t think Ive ever seen the Chancellor get picked up before!

In the photograph above Sanjeev is presenting an honorary degree to a distinguished expert in the field of art conservation, Dr David Bomford. You can just see me on the far left.

Many congratulations to all those who graduated today!

2 Responses to “Winter Graduation”

  1. Lifted is novel. But then I once attended a commencement at the National University of Singapore and in the reception that followed, I … well, I sneezed, and got snot on my hand I figured where the nearest bathroom likely was and trudged right into the circle around President S R Nathan. He offered his hand to me. What could I do? I shook it, and got my snot on the President of Singapore.

    I assured him I was having a great time there and got as far away as I could before he might catch my name.

  2. I won’t say where, but I once saw a graduation where one of the graduates was so drunk that he stumbled and fell into the person awarding the degree. Later, people remarked how sweet it was that he gave him a hug.

Leave a Reply

