Boléro sur un thème de Charles Racquet

I’m going to be incommunicado for yet another “Awayday” today so I thought I’d post this to tide the blog over until Saturday when I’ll be back on campus for yet another Applicant Visit Day.

I heard this piece on Radio 3 a while ago and was intrigued enough to describe it on Twitter as “weird but groovy”. The presenter, Mr James Jolly, mentioned that comment live on air so I briefly felt like a celebrity. The Boléro sur un thème de Charles Racquet is a piece for organ and percussion that was actually improvised in its first performance by renowned organist and composer Pierre Cochereau in 1973, and transcribed by his son, Jean-Marc Cochereau. I think it’s a remarkably original piece of music.

3 Responses to “Boléro sur un thème de Charles Racquet”

  1. Anton Garrett Says:

    Loud organ music is the only atonal music I like. It’s got the power!

  2. Bryn Jones Says:

    That’s an enjoyable performance of an interesting piece of music. I’d
    never heard it before. Excellent.

Leave a Reply

