Happy Retirement, Diane Greening!

Yesterday’s retirement do reminded me that I had neglected to mention another retirement, this time from the Science and Technology Facilities Council.

Diane Greening is retiring at the end of this month from her position at STFC where, among many other things, she provided valuable support and guidance to the Astronomy Grants Panel. I’ve served on that panel myself and I can tell you it’s no picnic, not least because there’s just not enough money to go around so many applicants are bound to be disappointed. Those long and difficult meetings in Swindon would have been even tougher without the patience and good humour of the office team, especially Diane.

I’m sure I speak for everyone in the UK Astronomy community when I say thank you to Diane for her sterling service at STFC and wish her a very long and very happy retirement!

 

One Response to “Happy Retirement, Diane Greening!”

  1. Absolutely! I’m worried how we’re going to keep Kim Burchell under control now Diane is going to be enjoying her life outside of Polaris House…

Leave a Reply

