P.S. Another Exit

The news about yesterday’s vote to take the United Kingdom out of the European Union reminded me that I haven’t yet mentioned on this blog that I’ll shortly be making an exit of my own although it is completely unconnected with and far less important than the EU referendum! Hopefully this will answer a comment on a poem I recently posted

I will be stepping down as Head of the School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences (MPS) and leaving the University of Sussex at the end of July. I made this decision some time ago and it was annnounced publicly by the University of Sussex in May, but at that time I was busy marking examinations and doing other stuff and I never got around to mentioning it on here.

I do not propose to go into detail about the reasons for my resignation, which are a mixture of personal and professional. Suffice to say I have found the many burdens and frustrations of my current job just too onerous to manage and therefore concluded that it’s better for all concerned if I leave and make way for someone better suited to the position.

I will be taking a short career break for health reasons, and returning to the  School of Physics and Astronomy at Cardiff University, to continue my research in astrophysics and cosmology in connection with the new Data Innovation Research Institute.

My appointment in 2013 was for a 5-year term, so I am leaving after three and a half years. MPS is in a very good position, with record student numbers and research income. I would not have decided to leave if I thought my departure would in any way jeopardise the progress that has been made over the last few years or the plans already in place for the next few years.

I’d like to take this opportunity to thank everyone I’ve worked with at Sussex for being such great colleagues and wish them all the very best for the future.

 

3 Responses to “P.S. Another Exit”

  1. Stephen Addison Says:

    I have read your blog since discovering it, as an expat physicist (born in Swansea, and Cardiff grad (B.Sc (Hons), 1978) I find much of interest in your blogs. Cardiff will be the richer for your return – it was a wonderful place when I was there (under the late, great C.A. Taylor) and it reaches new heights each year. I have appreciated your posts on Brexit – from my viewpoint in the US, the electorate have made a what could turn out to be a calamitous mistake. Keep on blogging!

  2. […] not getting much time to blog these days because there’s so much to finish off before I step down from my position as Head of School for Mathematical and Physical Sciences at the University of […]

  3. […] not yet! – but I did feel the article in question had some relevance to my own decision, made a few months ago, to resign from my previous post as Head of the School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences at the […]

Leave a Reply

