Last Day of MaxEnt2016

This week has gone very quickly. It is already the last day of MaxEnt2016. Tomorrow I’m returning by train to the UK. Last night was a very nice conference dinner at a place called Parnassus (which is actually a deconsecrated church). That was after a very enjoyable afternoon of sightseeing through two guided tours, one on foot and the other by boat.

This morning is the last session in the conference venue Oude Vismijn. Here is a snap taken in between talks this morning:

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

MaxEnt2016

In olden days this hall looked more like this:

vismijn3

Given the location it’s a pity I didn’t think to put a joke in my talk about the Poisson distribution. Geddit?

Over the last few days the City of Ghent has been preparing for the annual Ghent Festival (Gentse Feesten) which has involved the construction of dozens of temporary structures including stages for the bands to play on, and many tents of various sizes for beer consumption). The Festival goes on for 10 days and the first night is tonight. I’m told it’s very noisy in the city centre, which is where my hotel is, so I’m not sure I’ll get much sleep tonight as the festivities go on round the clock!

 

One Response to “Last Day of MaxEnt2016”

  1. “Given the location it’s a pity I didn’t think to put a joke in my talk about the Poisson distribution. Geddit?”

    Sounds fishy to me.

Leave a Reply

