Last Day in Brighton

Here I am in the flat I’ve been renting for the past three and a half years. I’m just packing the last of my belongings ready to take back to Cardiff. I’ll be handing back the keys this afternoon and then heading for the railway station.

I left my job at Sussex at the end of last week, but the tenancy of the flat doesn’t expire until tomorrow so I thought I might as well make the most of it.

Tomorrow is the annual Pride celebration in Brighton, which I’ve decided to miss for logistical reasons. I hope it goes well though, especially for the weather.

It’s a warm sunny day and I may go for a stroll along the promenade before I leave. I still think that Brighton would have been a nice place to live, if only I’d been able to find the time to enjoy it, but I have no regrets about returning to Cardiff. When you start to dread going into work every morning it’s definitely time to make a change. It was an immense relief when I removed the Sussex University email account from my mobile phone!

But this isn’t really a time for looking back. I am looking forward to the next few weeks because I’m not actually starting work at Cardiff until September. I’m going to spend most of August pottering about the house, though I do have a (hopefully short) stay in hospital scheduled for routine maintenance.

It will probably feel quite strange when I do get back to work at Cardiff, but at least there will be some familiar faces!

Update: courtesy of Southern Rail I had to stand all the way from Brighton to Victoria. They could only muster four coaches for a peak time train. I won’t miss Southern Fail that’s for sure..

6 Responses to “Last Day in Brighton”

  1. Anton Garrett Says:

    And getting a cat…

  2. susan webb Says:

    Sounds like you might have some time to spend with your saxophone.

    Good luck for your return to Wales.

    Best wishes

    Sue

    >

  3. Anton Garrett Says:

    Southern Rail won’t miss you either, because they’re on strike!

Leave a Reply

