“Just one more thing”: The psychology of ‘Columbo’

I got a pingback from this piece this morning, as it links to a post on this blog, so I thought I’d share it here. I named my dear departed cat Columbo precisely because he had a habit of leaving through the catflap only to return a second later…

drmarkgriffiths

My favourite TV detective has always been Columbo (played by Peter Falk). I have watched every single one of the 69 episodes (as my family will attest) many times. While I am working, I will often have Columbo on in the background in the way that other people have music on in the background (although I do the latter as well). For those reading this that have not come across Columbo, here is a brief synopsis from Wikiquote:

“Columbo (1968, 1971-1978, 1989-2003) was an American crime fiction television show about Lieutenant Columbo, a homicide detective with the Los Angeles Police Department. He uses his deferential and absent-minded persona to lull criminal suspects into a false sense of security, by harassing and pestering suspects non-stop – without letting them know that they’re suspects – under the pretense that he’s simply being a pesky detective, in order to spy on them and agitate…

View original post 2,213 more words

Leave a Reply

