Transitional Arrangements

I hope you will excuse a short personal message.

I’ve noticed that quite a few people are emailing me at my Sussex address and are getting a message that I have left (which I have).

I am in fact currently on a month’s (unpaid) leave so that I can deal with a number of personal things. After that, from 1st September, I’ll be rejoining the School of Physics and Astronomy at Cardiff University.

My new email and other contact information should be set up shortly. In the meantime I am reading my email at Sussex, but only replying to very urgent messages. I am, after all, on leave.

I hope this clarifies the situation.

Anyway, it seems I picked a good time for for a holiday, as the weather in Cardiff is lovely!

Here for no particular reason is a photograph I took of a heron on the battlements of Cardiff Castle.

image

One Response to “Transitional Arrangements”

  1. Bryn Jones Says:

    Different universities behave differently as regards allowing access to old e-mail accounts when a person leaves. One tried to delete my old e-mail address within a month of my leaving, some other university e-mail accounts lasted a few years.

    No department ever redirected paper mail. It is presumably standard policy to discard post that arrives for former employees. at least as far as people on fixed-term contracts are concerned.

    Good luck in the new job. I hope things go very well.

Leave a Reply

