Relocation, Relocation, Relocation

It seems my relocation to Cardiff is now more-or-less complete. The boxes of stuff from my old office at the University of Sussex arrived on Monday and I’ve been gradually stacking the books on the shelves in the rather large office to which I’ve been assigned:


In fact the removals people caught me on the hop, as they said they would phone me about an hour before they were due to arrive but didn’t do so. I was quite surprised to see all the boxes already there when I came in on Monday!

I was planning to have all this delivered a while ago to my house, because I didn’t think I was going to be given an office big enough to accommodate much of it. But then I had to delay the removal because my visit to hospital was put back so I wouldn’t have been able to receive it. Then I found out I had plenty of space at the University so I decided to have it all moved here.



I’ll be sharing this space with other members of the Data Innovation Research Institute, but for the time being I’m here on my own. The books make it look a bit more “lived-in” than it did when I arrived, though the mini-bar still hasn’t arrived yet.

It’s actually about four years since I was appointed to my previous job at Sussex; I moved there from Cardiff in early 2013. It’s a bit strange being back. I didn’t imagine when I started at Sussex that I would be returning relatively soon, but then I didn’t imagine a lot of the things that would lead to my resignation. From what I’ve heard, many of those things have been getting even worse since I left. I think I’ll keep a discussion of all that to myself, though, at least until I write my memoirs!



8 Responses to “Relocation, Relocation, Relocation”

  1. Steve Warren Says:

    I’m looking forward to your memoirs, and I’m sure many others are too. ‘A Life in the Dark’?

  2. Sorry to be such a curmudgeon, but is there any chance that your move will lead to a quick proper launch of the Open Journal of Astrophysics? If not, will we see another R.I.P. post soon?

  3. Anton Garrett Says:

    How can any theoretician possibly work in a shared office? You have to be alone to think.

  4. Peter, sorry for the OT question, but would be interested to hear your comments about Stacy’s latest paper

Leave a Reply

