People are not “Bargaining Chips”

Today there has been a day of action under the banner of “One Day Without Us” to celebrate the contribution that migrants make to the United Kingdom and to the counter growing tide of racism and xenophobia associated with some elements of the recent campaign for this country to leave the European Union. Here’s a video produced by the campaign.

I wish to make it clear, as someone who was born in the United Kingdom, that I am appalled by the present government’s refusal to guarantee the rights of the millions of EU citizens who have made this country their home and enriched us all with their presence here. Migrants have had a positive effect over all sectors of the UK economy for a very long time, but I wish to highlight from my own experience the enormous contribution “migrants” – or as I prefer to call them “colleagues” – make to our Universities. Non-UK scientists form the backbone of the School of Physics & Astronomy here at Cardiff, just as they did in the School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences at the University of Sussex. Without them I don’t know how we’d carry on.

Now the Article 50 Bill has begun its progress through the House of Lords, I hope that it can be amended to force the government to stop treating such valuable people in such a despicable way. In the meantime all I can do – and I know it’s only a gesture – is say that the government does not speak for me, or for any of my colleagues, and that I hope and believe that it will be made to abandon its repellent notion that people can be treated like bargaining chips.

Leave a Reply

