Time after the Storm

Thankfully my journey back to Cardiff today was trouble-free. The trains from Lincoln to Nottingham and from Nottingham to Cardiff both ran to schedule and neither was at all overcrowded. In fact it was all rather pleasant.

I took this as we travelled along by the side of the River Severn 

The Severn Bridge was visible in the distance but I’m not sure you can see it in the picture.

I used to make this journey quite often. I worked in Nottingham until the end of June 2007, after which I joined the staff of Cardiff University. It took some time to sell my house in Nottingham, however, so I didn’t fully relocate until the following year. In the meantime I rented a flat in Cardiff and travelled quite frequently to and fro to attend to the house in Nottingham.
I haven’t done that journey for about nine years. The area around Nottingham station has changed a bit in the intervening years, but I didn’t have time to see much else as I only had a brief wait for the connection to Cardiff.

When I did get back to Cardiff, I noticed during my walk home from the station through Sophia Gardens that the daffodils have appeared:

I realise that there’s not much about Astrophysics in this post, so I’ll mention that it’s exactly 30 years since the Supernova 1987a was detected (on 24th February 1987). Have a look here to see what’s been going on in the remnant over the years. It’s fascinating!

I remember the news of SN1987a very well. I was at Sussex at the time as a research student, and there was huge excitement primarily because neutrinos had been detected from the explosion – only a handful, but it was an important breakthrough. 

Thirty years since the Supernova, almost ten years since I left Nottingham. Where does the time go?

10 Responses to “Time after the Storm”

  1. Indeed. Who knows where the time goes? https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=7bzXV1UPD80

  2. I don’t care where time goes, Iwant to know where it comes from.

  3. Bryn Jones Says:

    The inverse of what I experienced: travelling from Nottingham to Cardiff to attend to my Cardiff house before selling it. The trouble was that the rail service at that time was in chaos following a train crash and a programme of network-wide safety improvements, which meant making many coach journeys instead of ones by train.

    • telescoper Says:

      I was external examiner for undergraduate courses at Cardiff for three years around the time you were at Nottingham. I had to make the journey to and fro several times and it was often messed up and involved the dreaded replacement bus service.

      • Bryn Jones Says:

        Replacement bus services are horrible, although my Nottingham-Cardiff journeys were made by National Express coaches, which involved changing buses and waiting at Digbeth coach station in Birmingham. That coach station was a miserable place.

        Incidentally, I stood in for you once in giving a talk in Lincoln, but that was at the local astronomical society. That journey by train from Nottingham went smoothly.

      • telescoper Says:

        I don’t remember that you stood in for me. Can you remember the reason?

      • Bryn Jones Says:

        No, I don’t remember the reason you were unable to make the scheduled lecture.

      • Bryn Jones Says:

        Wait a minute. I have archived copies of e-mails from that period. Your message of 15:38 on 21 Jan 2003 sent around Nottingham astrophysics academics and postdocs read:

        Dear Chaps

        I had a phone call this morning from David Swaby, at the Lincoln Astronomical Society who is looking for a speaker on February 4th.
        I’ll be in Copenhagen on that day.

        Can anyone do it?

        Peter

        (As you will, of course, remember.)

      • telescoper Says:

        Of course. I was just testing you.

  4. There used to be a little ritual on this line, when the porters (remember them?) would cry out “Awre for Blakeney!”, and the passengers would all respond, “No, it’s B for Blakeney!”.

Leave a Reply

