Archive for March 7, 2017

45 Years of the Azed Crossword

Posted in Crosswords with tags , , on March 7, 2017 by telescoper

I apologize for being a little late to celebrate this publicly, but I noticed yesterday that Sunday 5th March 2017 marked the 45th anniversary of the appearance of the first Azed crossword puzzle in the Observer. The first one appeared on 5th March 1972 when I was 8 years old and the compiler, Jonathan Crowther, must have been even younger.

I should add that in 1972 I didn’t even know that the Observer newspaper existed. The only Sunday paper I was aware of in those days was the Sunday Post which, though published in Scotland, was very popular on Tyneside at the time. I remember the cartoons very well indeed, especially The Broons and Oor Wullie.

I resumed doing the Azed puzzle about a year ago with the demise of the print edition of the Independent on Sunday but I have yet to register any successes in the monthly competition. There have been a few glitches in this recently, such as incorrect grids and wrong instructions, which put me off even attempting some of the recent competitions. And those I have entered I’ve done so cursorily, with little time to think much about it.

Since this Sunday’s puzzle marks a special occasion, however, I think I might try to send in a decent clue this time. I completed the puzzle – Azed No. 2334 – last night so have a few days to ponder on an appropriate entry.

Incidentally, if you look at the across clues in this week’s puzzle you will see that the first letters form an acrostic: “FORTY FIVE YEARS OF AZED” but only if the supplied clue for 29 across beings with “R”. That’s how I realized it was the Azed Crossword’s 45th birthday!

Anyway, as a physicist I particularly enjoyed 25 down:

Particle rapidly showing displacement of neutron (6)

Not too difficult, but rather neat!

There’s also a nice one at 14 down:

Spacecraft may enter it: I soon changed pressure at this point (10)

 

