Archive for May 5, 2017

Another One Day

Posted in Cricket on May 5, 2017 by telescoper

I had the day off today so I could watch Glamorgan play Somerset in the Royal London Cup.


It was a bright but very windy day at Sophia Gardens. Glamorgan won the toss and put Somerset in to bat. The home team’s bowlers did reasonably well, for 40 overs or so, at restricting the scoring but only took three wickets at a cost of 204. In the last ten overs, however, thanks to excellent strokeplay and (it has to be said) undisciplined bowling, Somerset pushed their total up to 338. By the end, Glamorgan looked a demoralised side.

I felt that total was going to be beyond Glamorgan’s batsmen, and so it proved. They crumbled rapidly and were all out for 168, not even halfway to their target.

While I was watching Glamorgan bat I realised that they’ve lost every game I’ve watched. Undaunted, I’ll be back on Sunday (weather permitting) to watch them try to maintain their unblemished record against Essex.

P.s As the match finished early, I headed over the river from Sophia Gardens and across Bute Park to the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama to listen to the free Friday evening jazz, which was most enjoyable.

