Archive for September 1, 2017

A Year Back

Posted in Biographical, The Universe and Stuff with tags , on September 1, 2017 by telescoper

So, with the summer drawing to a close, and the contents of my weekly veggie box changing to autumnal varieties, I realise that today is the first anniversary  of my first day back in the School of Physics and Astronomy at Cardiff University. In other words, I’ve now been in office in the Data Innovation Research Institute for a full year.  Very soon we get to the official launch of a couple of things that have started during this time – including a new Centre for Doctoral Training in Data-Intensive Science and two new MSc course which have recruited their first students for entry this year.

 

I seem to remember this day last year mainly involving running around dealing with administrative matters: taking my P45 to the Human Resources Department, getting my new Staff ID card, trying to get myself set up on the University computer network, and so on. I moved into a large empty office, but it’s now gradually filling up with staff: a couple of Research Software Engineers have been appointed, together with an administrators, and two members of Supercomputing Wales are joining us soon too.

Anyway, I’m shortly off to London for the weekend to catch up with an old friend I haven’t seen for ages. I’m currently pissed off with Great Western Railways for failing to pay a compensation claim I lodged back in June and for slow running on the mainline to Paddington today due to planned engineering to works, so I’ll be travelling to the Big Smoke and back by National Express Coach.

 

 

 

