A Fellow’s Diary 

Yet another sign that Autumn is on the way arrived yesterday in the form of my new Royal Astronomical Society diary, which comes with the subscription. This runs from October to October so each year’s new edition usually comes in September. I say `usually’ because mine didn’t come at all last year. It probably got lost in a muddle when I changed address back to Cardiff from Sussex. Each year’s version is usually a different colour from the previous one too. This time it’s a sort of bottle green.

Anyway, although many of my colleagues seem not to use them, I like old-fashioned diaries like this. I do run an electronic calendar for work-related events, meetings etc, but I use the paper one to scribble down extra-curricular activities such as concerts and cricket fixtures, as I find the smartphone version of my electronic calendar a bit fiddly.

Anyway, I’m interested to know the extent to which I am an old fogey so here’s a little poll on the subject of diaries:

4 Responses to “A Fellow’s Diary ”

  1. With the slow nature of the Mexican postal system, mine usually arrives about 2 or 3 months late, otherwise I would be tempted to use it.

    • I’m guessing from this and another recent comment that you a) teach astronomy at university level and b) in Mexico. Do you by chance know Klaus-Peter Schröder (who, picking up on another recent thread, was, IIRC, briefly in Sussex)?

      • I have worked at the Universidad de Guadalajara in Mexico since 1999. After M.Sc. at Sussex I did a Ph.D. in Manchester then worked as a postdoc at QUB Belfast then IAC Tenerife.
        I know Klaus-Peter, though haven’t seen him for a number of years. He works in the astro group at Guanajuato. We haven’t had many regional or national conferences for a while but here’s one coming up, so I may see him there. He was a friend of Peter Phillips, who used to be the head of our group in Guadalajara, but died in 2011.

      • When I was a student in Hamburg, Klaus-Peter had a temporary assistant professorship (Hochschulassistent); at least back then, all positions at this level were temporary. He was part of the group of Dieter Reimers, who worked both on stars (as did/does Klaus-Peter) and on extragalactic topics (quasar surveys, Lyman-alpha spectroscopy, etc). I even heard a two-hour-a-week lecture series by Klaus-Peter.

Leave a Reply

