Archive for October 8, 2017

Return to IUCAA

Posted in Biographical, The Universe and Stuff with tags , on October 8, 2017 by telescoper

This afternoon I roused myself from my slumbers and took a stroll around the campus of the Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA). You can read more about IUCAA here.

I was last here in 1994, at which time I was working with Varun Sahni on a long review article for Physics Reports. We didn’t quite get it all finished during the month or so I was here then, but it was submitted the following year.

Given that was over twenty years ago it shouldn’t really be a surprise that I don’t remember the place all that well, but in fact it has changed quite considerably with lots of new buildings. I’m not staying in the guest accommodation area I was in last time, but in a new part just round the corner. I’ve got a small apartment, actually,including a kitchen but I think I’ll be eating at the refectory most of the time.

Anyway, here are some snaps of parts of the IUCAA complex I did recognize:

There are four statues in the main quadrangle which is featured in the first three pictures. These are of:  Sir Isaac Newton (seated under the tree), Albert Einstein (standing with hands in pockets); Galileo Galilei (in the robe with arms akimbo); and Aryabhata the great Indian mathematician-astronomer. It’s quite hard to get all four into one picture, even from the roof!

Anyway, there’s dinner and drinks coming up at 7.30 so that’ll do for a first post. The meeting starts tomorrow morning and I’ll try to tweet/blog about interesting bits until it finishes at the end of the week. The meeting is called Post-Planck Cosmology: Enigma, Challenges and Visions, so I’ll try tweeting with #PPCIUCAA2017 as the hashtag and see if it catches on!

