Post-Planck Cosmology: Day 4

So here we are at the end of the meeting, after a fourth and final day of wide-ranging cosmology talks. I did the first presentation at 9am. I won’t summarize my own lecture because you can find the slides here:

Here are two pictures of me in action:

me_2

me_1

After that we had, amongst others, invited talks by Subhabrata Majumdar on the eROSITA all-sky X-ray survey and Somak Raychaudhury (Director of IUCAA) on large-scale structures in the local universe, Kandu Subramanian on primordial magnetic fields and Anvar Shukurov on Probabilistic Topology and Morphology (a change to the advertised title). There were also a number of shorter talks of diverse nature mainly on the subject of large-scale structure and galaxy formation.

I have known Kandu Subramanian since I was a student at Sussex and he was a postdoc there. At that time he was working mainly on gravitational lensing. I haven’t seen him for quite a long time and was surprised to see that now his hair has gone completely white. That’s what happens to you if you work on primordial magnetic fields.

The afternoon session overran and I had an appointment for Skype call so I had to leave before the closing remarks, so let me take this opportunity to thank the conference organisers for putting together such an interesting meeting and especially for inviting me back to Pune after all this time. It has been very enjoyable.

Many of the conference guests have already left and some are leaving tomorrow. I am staying in India for a few more days, however. Tomorrow morning I’m going to Mumbai to give a talk at the Tata Institute for Fundamental Research. I have to get up early tomorrow for that trip so I think I’ll take an early night.

7 Responses to “Post-Planck Cosmology: Day 4”

  1. Thanks for putting your slides here Peter. The portions which you had to skip will be now available. I thoroughly enjoyed your talk.

  2. Are there also videos of the talks?

  3. Peter, is there not going to be any result on r from Planck, SPTpol or ACTpol?

  4. Your talk looks somewhat familiar. Back in the days of hand-drawn transparencies, Martin Rees remarked that one could re-use three: a diagonal line (a log-log plot), lots of random dots (observational data in a scatter diagram), and a wiggly line (could be a spectrum, or a host of other things). You could do a similar riff on classic paintings. 🙂

Leave a Reply

