Back to Blighty

Just a brief post today to say that I got back safe and sound last night. I was up at 4am Tuesday Pune time (which was 11.30pm Monday UK time) and finally got to bed at about 11.30pm UK time last night, so apart from about 45 minutes doze on the flight I had been awake for 24 hours. Not surprisingly, I slept in this morning!

After another white-knuckle taxi ride (with the added complication of thick fog) I got Mumbai airport in good time. The flight itself was almost empty. Not only did I get a row of seats to myself in economy class, but the two rows in front in and the two rows behind were also unoccupied. I’m not entirely sure why the flight was so underbooked – as the outbound flight was absolutely crammed – but it may be that the festival of Diwali takes place this week (on Thursday or even today in some regions). Relatively few people are probably leaving India at this time compared with the many coming home to celebrate with friends and family. It’s a nice coincidence that Monday’s announcement of simultaneous detection of gravitational waves and electromagnetic radiation came so close to the Festival of Light, traditionally celebrated with fireworks and gifts of gold!

Despite liberal helpings of wine from the drinks trolley and the ability to lie down across three seats I still didn’t really sleep. I just don’t have the knack for sleeping on planes. Still, I did get to watch the film The Imitation Game which I hadn’t seen before and thought was very good.

We arrived back on schedule without the (usually) obligatory air traffic delays around Heathrow and, the arrivals hall being empty, I was out of the airport less than half an hour after landing. That’s a bit of record for me!

Anyway, I’ve various things to catch up on now that I’m back so I’ll try to get on with them. I’ll just end by thanking my hosts at IUCAA again for their hospitality and, while I’m at it, send a Happy Diwali message in Marathi to them and anyone else celebrating at this special time:

 

Leave a Reply

