The Black Square

Kazimir MalevichThe Black Square, 1915, oil on linen, 79.5 x 79.5 cm, Tretyakov Gallery,Moscow.

3 Responses to “The Black Square”

  1. Actually I prefer this one to White on White, 1918, simply because ‘dark matters’ 🙂

  2. The painting has not aged well (but reminds me of the fabulous Paris-Moscou exhibit I saw at Beaubourg in 1978). Last month I saw Reihnardt’s “Black on Black” at the MUDAM in Luxembourg for the first time and along with my son was impressed by the complexity of the piece.

Leave a Reply

