Planck wins the Gruber Prize (and the Shaw Prize)

I forgot to mention last week that the 2018 Gruber Prize for Cosmology has been awarded to the Planck team, and its Principal Investigators Nazzareno Mandolesi and Jean-Loup Puget.

For more information about the award and the citation, see here.

This annual prize is worth $500,00; the two PIs will get $125,000 each and the rest divided among the team. I’m not sure whether this means the Planck Science Team (whose membership is listed here or the entire Planck Collaboration (which numbers several hundred people) but regardless of whoever gets the actual dosh, this award provides a good excuse to send congratulations to everyone who worked on this brilliant and highly successful mission!


UPDATE: 14th May 2018. Jean-Loup Puget has also been awarded the Shaw Prize for Astronomy.

One Response to “Planck wins the Gruber Prize (and the Shaw Prize)”

  1. There are at least half a dozen such prizes, including the Nobel. It is not uncommon for people to win more than one.

    Back in 2013 (tempus fugit!), Peter and I were at a school (he as a speaker, myself in the audience) when it was announced that another speaker there, Viatcheslav Mukhanov, had won the Gruber prize (along with Alexei Starobinsky, who fortunately wasn’t a speaker).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: