“Cosmic Anomalies” Talk, Copenhagen, August 2011

I think I’m getting the hang of this slideshare malarky so I thought I’d try it out by posting the slides I used for my (short) talk at the workshop in Copenhagen I told you about two or three weeks ago. I’m not sure how useful they will be to anyone, as I suppose it will be quite hard to reconstruct the talk using only the small amount of information I bother to put on the slides..

If you’re wondering about the presence of various apparently random works of art then what can I say? I like paintings!

7 Responses to ““Cosmic Anomalies” Talk, Copenhagen, August 2011”

  1. What would Bayesian reasoning make of it if Planck gave us a cleaned map that looked like slide 19?

  2. I’m also intrigued by what is happening in slides 16-20. Could you say a bit more about that?

    (I wish more people’s slides looked like yours – the standard in particle physics is to put as many words+plots on the slide as will fit, and if possible to read them verbatim. Giving good talks is difficult, but it sometimes seems like that’s not really appreciated in my field…)

  3. You’re right, it is very hard to reconstruct your talk from these slides. The kind of slides the comment above mentions are obviously easier to read on the web after the fact, but of course they put you to sleep when you actually listen to them.

    When I was an undergraduate we had a lecturer who not only read his lecture verbatim off his slides, he even distributed printouts of his slides before the start of the lecture! I don’t think he quite understood that the reason his little jokes always fell flat was that we had read the punchline 20 minutes ago and were now fast asleep.

Leave a comment