R.I.P. John David Jackson (1925-2016)

Yet again I have to pass on some very sad news. Physicist John David Jackson, best known for his classic textbook Classical Electrodynamics, has passed away at the age of 91. I’m sure I speak for many physicists when I say that Classical Electrodynamics was not only an essential part of my physics education but also a constant companion throughout the rest of my career. I have consulted my copy regularly over the last thirty years. I was often frustrated that when I found the topic I was looking for in the index, it referred to a problem (usually a difficult one) rather than a solution, but there’s no question it made me a better physicist.

Jackson

Rest in peace, John David Jackson (1925-2016).

8 Responses to “R.I.P. John David Jackson (1925-2016)”

  1. Anton Garrett Says:

    I always thought nothing could touch Born and Wolf, but that is not a criticism of Jackson.

  2. Jim Fry Says:

    I first encountered Jackson (green) as a junior undergraduate (the professor teaching the course said, Why mess around with anything less). I have taught from all three editions, and I continue to return to look up things I should remember. Although I have never met him, I feel I know him, and I will miss him.

  3. Administrador Says:

    A classic

  4. George Jones Says:

    Red Jackson was my undergrad text. Jackson was my supervisor’s graduate quantum mechanics instructor.

  5. Jackson…great book. RIP

    lots of my blood, sweat and tears went into my study of it. I once bragged about my ability to solve problems in Jackson to a disgruntled theorist. the theorist shot back at me, with something like, “….it’s all linear!”

  6. Just traded in my blue one for the red one used by Paul Wesson, who also died a few months ago. Physicists live on in their margin notes.

  7. […] chance conjunction on this blog of a post about the death of ProfessorĀ  J.D. Jackson with another about the greed of academic publishers caught the attention of one Ian Jackson (son of […]

Leave a comment