Wikipedia Update 

In case you didn’t realise it, I have my very own Wikipedia page. I don’t know who set it up, or who edits it, but it does seem to get updated regularly. Fortunately these updates are reasonably sensible and generally accurate.

I recently noticed that it has been updated again:

I wouldn’t say it was “pathological”, but it is indeed the case that I don’t like harpsichords (or, to be more accurate, I don’t like the noise they produce).

One day I might edit the page myself, but other than being a cosmologist who hates harpsichords I’m not sure there’s enough else to me that’s worth putting there!

10 Responses to “Wikipedia Update ”

  1. You can find some info about who’s been editing it at https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Peter_Coles&action=history

    I don’t suppose you’d be willing to share a photo of yourself under a Creative Commons license so that it could be used in the article? See https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Special:UploadWizard

    Please don’t edit the page yourself, but if anything’s wrong or if you can point out things that can be added, please do so on the talk page for it – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Talk:Peter_Coles . Also see https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:Conflict_of_interest

    • telescoper Says:

      Somebody told me on Facebook that one is not supposed to edit one’s own Wikipedia page. I hadn’t realised, but at least it shows I haven’t tried to do it!

    • telescoper Says:

      Am I allowed to upload a picture of myself, or is that bad form too?

      • Uploading a picture of yourself is absolutely fine (and encouraged!), it’s changing the text that tends to cause problems.

      • telescoper Says:

        I have admit I have seen many biog pages that very much look like they were written by the person in the article!

  2. BTW, I’ve rewritten / expanded the article a bit now!

  3. Adrian Burd Says:

    According to JDB’s Wiki page, one of his doctoral students was Mark Madsen, the US basketball player….I don’t recall Mark been 6ft 9″ tall.

    • There were a few others that were links to articles about the wrong person too… I think I’ve removed them all now, but if I missed any then please correct them!

  4. I’ve corrected the blog name in the article. ‘Statistics’ is a separate item in that list, but https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Statistics says “Statistics is a branch of mathematics”…

  5. […] somebody even set up a Wikipedia page about me. It began as “just a stub” but has been updated from time to time. I don’t know who set it up or who has updated it, but it’s now a bit out of date. It […]

Leave a comment