More Hubble Constant Tension

Here’s the abstract of another contribution to ongoing discussions around so-called tension between different estimates of the Hubble Constantpolldaddy (see this blog passim):

You can find the actual paper (by Lin, Mack and Hou) on the arXiv here.

Now, before Mr Hine starts to fill up my blocked comments folder with rants, I will add a few comments of my own.

First, at the Royal Astronomical Society on Friday I discussed all this with a renowned observational astronomer and expert on stellar distance measurements. He agreed with me that if the `tension’ is indeed real then it is far more likely to be a problem with stellar distance measurements than the cosmology.

Second, I am writing a review of all this to be published in Astronomy & Geophysics next year. Watch this space.

Third, this gives me an excuse to include yet again my poll on whether you are worried about the “tension”:

Leave a comment